What is Ayurveda medicine?


Ayurveda is an ancient Indian medicine that is central to the culture. 


The primary source of Ayurveda medicine is the Charaka Samhita, a text written on Ayurveda medicine in the Sanskrit language. The literal meaning of Ayurveda is “knowledge of life,” and its scope encompasses precisely that. 


This path of knowledge is over 5,000 years old, and it aims to bring a sense of peace, meaningful purpose, joy, contentment, and everlasting vibrant health to its practitioners.  


Ayurveda medicine can be relevant to daily life.


It teaches that everyone is wired differently and that no two human bodies are the same. What may work for someone may fail for another. Every individual also has a unique health system. Just because one medicine or method has worked on one person does not necessarily mean that it will help another. 


Furthermore, everything is poison, and everything is medicine in Ayurveda. It all depends on what suits your body and what does not. 


Everyone has their individual health pattern, and no one approach can cure-all. 


The elements of Ayurveda medicine

Five elements of Ayurveda medicine are also considered the fundamental building blocks or pillars of nature. 


These five elements are water, fire, earth, air, and space (sometimes called ether). 


These are the elements of Ayurveda medicine because each human being and each cell possesses these, although one or two may be more dominant over the others. 


Qualities of Ayurveda medicine

There are 20 qualities identified by Ayurveda medicine. These qualities are known as the “gunas” and are described as every human body’s experience. 


These 20 qualities or gunas are:

  • Oily, Dry
  • Heavy, Light
  • Slow, Sharp (also referred to as dull and penetrating, respectively)
  • Soft, Hard
  • Smooth, Rough
  • Dense, Liquid
  • Gross, Subtle
  • Stable, Mobile
  • Cloudy (also sticky), Clear
  • Cold, Hot


The principles of Ayurveda medicine


Ayurveda medicine works on the principles of three doshas. These doshas are considered the energies that each individual is made up of, and they are responsible for performing various physiological functions in our body.

The Vata Dosha

This Dosha is the energy within ourselves responsible for controlling all the movement in our bodies, including beating our heart, blinking, blood circulation, and breathing. If your Vata dosha is in balance, you will have vitality and creativity in your life, but if it is not balanced, you will experience more anxiety and fear. 

The Pitta Dosha

This energy is responsible for controlling your metabolism, including the percentage of nutrition in your body, your digestive system, your body’s temperature, and your body’s system of absorption. If your pitta dosha is balanced, everything is in sync and working just fine. It will provide you with contentment and boost your intelligence. On the other hand, if your pitta dosha is not balanced, your health will deteriorate, you will experience anger almost all the time, and you may begin to develop ulcers. 

The Kapha Dosha:

This Dosha controls your immune system, body moisturization, and internal water supply. If it is out of balance, it will give rise to feelings of envy and insecurity, but you will experience feelings of forgiveness and love if it is balanced.


In conclusion, Ayurveda medicine is a holistic approach to healing that can be used to treat a variety of conditions. It is based on the theory that health is determined by the balance of three doshas, or body energies. Ayurveda practitioners use a variety of treatments, including herbs, dietary changes, and yoga, to restore balance and promote health.

If you are interested in learning more about Ayurveda or any other approach helping you to improve your wellbeing holistically, click the button below, and I’d be glad to tell you more.